Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Giving black bullets a try

shooterDrew

I've been reloading for a few years but ramping it up toward the end of last year and into this year. So far I've reloaded some hard cast .45s from Missouri Bullet co. They seemed solid. That was pretty slow reloading time for me and I had no bad issues with them. Next I moved on to xtreme bullets in 9mm and 40. (Soon to try .45) They were good. No issues there either. Now I've found black bullets international. Ordered a 500 rnd box of 147gr FP to try out. I was able to get 100 loaded up tonight. So far they seem like a decent bullet. Obviously putting some down range will tell, but at $43 shipped for 500 147s (and considerably less if you are buying in bulk) its something to consider. I'll follow up with some thoughts once I shoot these side by side with my extreme bullets....

And just fyi what I've been loading is 3.2gr of bullseye with 147 gr at 1.135" ... Was making just shy of 130pf

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My buddy and I have been using the BBIs for a few months in 135 and 147 with good results. Very consistent results with 3.1gr Titegroup at 1.080 OAL, making a shade over 130 PF.

How is the smoke situation with the combo of TG and their new coating??? Old coating & TG = lots of smoke,

Too much for indoors or the wrong conditions outdoors.

I shoot a lot of BBI bullets, I like them. I haven't tried TG and the new coating yet, but plan to in the next few months. N320 is my go to powder for 9mm 147FP BBI bullets and I will run out this year if I don't find some. I have however, been seeing a lot of TG on the shelves.

If you are looking for good value, no smell, try Blue Bullets. Been shooting these for about 10k rounds no problems, group well and clean barrel. Work great in my 40 cal. Sight Tracker AET barrel. Also used in my 45acp and 9mm.