Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need Advice: Open gun failing to chamber

Revo357

Hello everyone,

I have purchased a .38 supercomp open gun and it is failing to chamber completely. Every couple of rounds will cycle and chamber every time but others will get caught right at the chamber roof during the tip-over point. I'm fairly new to reloading and I've tried various bullet lengths from 1.240-1.270 and it all continues to result the same. I'm hoping it's just a spring strength issue. Any experience with this out there?

Thanks for your help,

Lucas B.

If you have the barrel out take a picture of the corner where the ramp meets the chamber. That sounds like the point where extractor tension, cartridge oal, and the corner of ramp to chamber all come in to play. A lot of smiths leave that corner alone providing maximum support for the case. I frequently ease that corner over for total reliability. The case wall needs to be supported at top of ramp however the extractor groove does not. Drop a round in the barrel and take a look. Let the builder know it is not running especially if you are not familiar with doing this.

Loading a flat point/hollowpoint bullet with the truncated cone type profile long can create that type of stoppage as well. Some flat point change profile faster than a round nose profile and bind at ramp corner to top of chamber.

Also if you have an Aftec extractor I ended up running a spring in the front pocket only. When reinstalling you have to slide a small wire or straight o ring pick in beside to tip the spring backer straight to get the extractor back in. Watch the brass eject to make sure it is good.