Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Helping Someone More Newbie than I

Smitty79

I am not a great shooter. When I shot a 57% El Prez, the other day in practice, I was ecstatic.

I am trying to help a friend who is just starting out. He's a lefty.

Unless you are shooting IDPA, does having an ambi slide stop help with anything? He's got a Glock 34. Should he be looking for something full ambi controls?

Hit marksmanship is not great. He shoots high right with a gun and ammo that I shoot spot on. Groups are 5 or so inches at 10 yds. From the error wheel, high right means anticipation. I think the best thing he can do for this is do white wall dry fire drills focusing on eliminating sight movement as he presses the trigger.

I'm totally new to the forum here, and I am no expert, because I learn new things every day, but I am a firearms instructor and run across these things with new shooters a lot.