Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Do Pros have bad days?

alexmg

I am still learning but, for what I am practicing right now I've progressed well per my self-set standards, I can maintain sub-1" grops at 5 and 7yds, and consistent 1,5 - 2" groups at 10 yards. By consistent I mean 90% of all strings end up as a good group withing above mentioned numbers.

However, I went shooting today and started at 7yd and it was a total mess, right from the beginning I shot fuzzy group top/right off center, which is weird, I even thought my sights were broken or something, then shot again, now low/left, shot another group, kinds centered, another group, low left. And so on an on and on for 200 rounds. Basically I totally blew it, well, I know that 99.9% the pistol is okay and shot as accurate as always so it was me that was shooting allover the place, I do however that my gripping technique was the same, my sight picture was the same, it's just somehow did not work today.

So I am just curious, is it possible to just have a bad day when stars are not aligned or something? Does this happen to pro shooters when on one day, when nothing indicate metal or physical fatigue, you go shooting and it just does not work?

I shoot with the pros and they have bad stages but usually don't have bad days (unless they break an ankle or something similar). They have developed the ability to recover from disasters and forget them by the time they go to the next stage.

I get a little better every day ....

focusing on bad days is not the path to shooting enlightenment .... forget about it and just train harder tomorrow ... and always use a timer ... on every rep ....

Bad days (or bad stages) are something you should rejoice about. They are pointing out the shortcomings in your training, so you know what issues to attack.

This issue *sounds* like a problem with trigger control or flinching or something. It's something that can be fixed. Get to work.