Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

is everything training?

stumpyv8

So, quick back story

I'm not a mechanic by trade but appear to have spent the last 15 years working on cars. Started as a semi skilled spanner monkey, managed the company, bought the company out, now employ people to get it done for me. Sounds good. Mainly it is, I get to dictate what work I do & what time I take off. Occasionally the work load dictates that I need to get back on the tools.

None of that is important.

Today, working as hard as I can, doing a job that is pretty repetative I realise something.

My mind is blank. I'm flat out doing a technically skilled job, I'm accurate in my movements, I'm observing things as they happen & reacting to it in the correct way.

I have been as productive as I ever was when I was on the tools full time & made no mistakes (QC thought I was awesome)

Apparently there are similarities between being fluent at your job & shooting.

Now all I have to do is translate that to match day.........

Enough conscious repetition of a task will result in a subconscious action. My biggest improvements happened when I just focused on trying to be more consistent with the basics/fundamentals of shooting. In matches just stick with what you know and just shoot the A's. This is what works for me your mileage may vary.

• 4 weeks later...

So, quick back story

I'm not a mechanic by trade but appear to have spent the last 15 years working on cars. Started as a semi skilled spanner monkey, managed the company, bought the company out, now employ people to get it done for me. Sounds good. Mainly it is, I get to dictate what work I do & what time I take off. Occasionally the work load dictates that I need to get back on the tools.

None of that is important.

Today, working as hard as I can, doing a job that is pretty repetative I realise something.