Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Talk me out of a 1050

bessy

Alright guys, here's where I am at.

I've been running a LNL AP for about 5 years. I load somewhere in the neighborhood 10-20k a year, of various calibers. I've slowly upgraded the LNL to include a case feeder/bullet feeder etc. I've pretty much ditched the bullet feeder because it doesn't work with moly coated rounds which is what I primarily use.

The LNL is very easy to swap over, aside from the case feeder.. I can do high volume pistol on it but even with the case feeder I top out around 400-500 an hour. If I'm on fire I might see 600, but that is very rare.

Here are my thoughts.

1. I'm wanting a second press that I can leave setup with my primary caliber (9mm, or 40 depending on if I'm shooting limited or production)

2. I feel like the lnl does an exceptional job with rifle.. and I have all the odd ball conversions and tweaks for it. (i've had to dick around with it for years so I have it figured out at this point) It swaps between calibers very quickly. I'm thinking I will keep it for all my odd ball loading.

3. I'm not sure if I should buy a 650 or a 1050 for my second press. I realize my volume probably doesn't justify a 1050, but I don't really think I will benefit for the lower conversion costs of a 650 since I will probably only use it for 1 or 2 calibers. The swagging feature on the 1050 also is nifty.. as I could get rid of my super swage.

4. As I have a c&r ffl... I'm looking at grafs and a 650 with case feeder is going to run me around 700 shipped, Where as a 1050 is going to run around 1500...

What do you guys think?

I had my mind set on a 1050 a few years back when I needed to move up from my single-stage press. I spoke with several 1050 owners, and all recommended that I get a 650. I now have three of them and not once have I wished I had picked up a 1050.