Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My quest

wamcei

Been dry practicing at home. I am a very new shooter to the world of competitive shooting. Got my hands on Steve Anderson's book and I am rolling. My initial par times were horrid! I started all this on 9/28/2014 and my par times have dropped over a second on some of the drills but most I average .8 second decrease in skills. I have done every drill in the book every day except Sunday's. And see myself seeing the target better every day!

I've been shooting for 61 years, and you're way ahead of me - I can't

force myself to dry fire, no matter what.

Now you should get out to the range, before it gets any colder, and

test your techniques with live ammo.

Congratulations, and I hope you make it to GM in a couple years. :cheers:

Here is another question. To those that have taken classes on competitive shooting did you find them beneficial? Were you able to videotape them so you could use it as a reference? There is a GM shooter in my area that offers classes and have been considering taking a few lessons from him. Any info on this would be appreciated!

I've taken two 2-day courses with GM's.

Both were very good, informative.

If you haven't taken any, I'd suggest it will probably be worth it ...

The 2nd course I took consisted of shooting the Dot Torture Drill

for an entire day - could have done that alone. Still, I did learn

some things during the 2nd day.

Depends on how much the $4-500 means to you. You will learn,

and can ask questions.

A problem is that most of the instruction tends to be basic - which

might be good if you're just beginning. Neither course offered

much in the way of shooting on the move, which is a real time

saver.

Shooting with better shooters who will answer questions/offer

suggestions is a Great Way to improve. (If you get squadded

with a GM, be sure NOT to interfere with his shooting plan).

I've shot with a shooter a little better than me, and he keeps