Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Putting an 870 together for 3gun

NateTSU

I have a Remington 870 express that I would like to use for 3gun. I am just getting started in the sport and don't have the funds for a new auto loader. It is a stock 870, what would y'all recommend to get started? Just a tube extension and shell caddies? Thanks for any advice in advance.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If your just getting started in 3 gun, loading will be much more of a hindrance than any non specialized equipment will be. For what it's worth I started playing in 3g with a hundred year old pump 12ga with a 30" barrel, an AK74 and a 45acp pistol. I'm almost glad I started with such goofy gear, using the wrong stuff for awhile and making it work gave me a good idea of what I needed when I started buying new gear. No regrets at all because of it.

No matches this weekend, they all got rained out. I plan on spending the weekend dry firing my pistol and learning how to load my shotgun.

As for shell holders what works best i see two different designs. I would think the load 2 would be the way to go. Any thoughts on that?

http://www.theshooterssource.com/carbon-arms-round-p-18448.html

And this style

http://www.theshooterssource.com/safariland-round-p-26419.html

What kind of shells holders starts with what method of loading you expect to employ.

Weak Hand? Choate Machine and Tool was the standard that others emulated

Load Two? (aka dropping deuces) I am a Carbon Arms fan but Invictus Tactical, TacCom and AP Customs all make excellent products too.

Quad Loading? Again all the above make units that let one quad load very well.