Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

6 inch Limited guns

pitvpr

I apologize up front if this has been discussed at length, if so please close this and point me in the right direction.

I'm new to the 2012 platform and I have a lightened 6" FGW, fluted barrel, tr-top, slide cutouts etc... I find that it's very light compared to and Edge for example. And people have commented that It has much more muzzle flip than their 5" Edge/Infinity etc...

How would you recommend I load for it and what spring weight. Some folks have told me 165g at major, a fast powder and 15lb spring will make it shoot flatter. I've been using 180g bullets and IMR 7625 for major.

If the heavier guns shoot flatter than the lighter guns, what' the reason for all the extra work to have them lightened?

Recoil is only half of the equation, the slide returning to battery is the other half.

A lighter recoil spring and a lighter slide will generally speed up acquiring the front sight for follow-up shots, IMO.

A 6" will generally have more apparent flip than a 5" as its extended length will result in the barrel reaching a higher point relative to "flat" at a given angle.

6" guns are typically lightened considerably both to get slide weight down to cycle acceptably fast and to improve overall balance in the hand. Lots of people argue about light long guns vs short heavy guns. I've spent way too much time debating the subject but there are those who believe flat is overrated, and that the speed at which the sight returns to an acceptable sight picture trumps softness or flatness.

As far as loads, I've been loving 165s with my light six but my slide is light enough that I still can get decent slide speed out of 200s. My gunsmith recommended I try out the 200s so I am giving that a run now. A few of the local 6 shooters tell me that they are loving the 200s with 3.5 GRS or less of powders like TG or Clays.