Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Light fast or slow heavy for lowest recoil?

Wich1911

I'm fairly new to USPSA and running a 1911 in .45. I heard a guy say the other day that for a given power factor, a heavier bullet moving at lower velocity produces less felt recoil than a lighter bullet traveling faster, loaded to the same power factor. Is his statement correct? In terms of basic physics, power factor is a measure of power, or energy, at the muzzle, and every action results in an equal and opposite reaction, right? So theoretically the recoil energy would seem to me to be equal with the two loads.

If you were in my shoes and trying to pick a standard load to run thousands of, would you go with the 230 gr. or 185 gr. ball (all other variables being equal)? Both loads run flawlessly in my gun, and I have not been able to discern an accuracy difference between the two.

That is definitely the general consensus. Some would also argue that the lighter, "snappier" loads with lighter bullets can help you go faster. Once you start getting a feel for a particular pistol and have a little better understanding of how it performs with different recoil springs, you might find that lighter bullet/higher velocity loads complete the recoil cycle faster and get you back on target quicjer for your 2nd round.

I ran a bunch of 185gr MG .45 bullets before I switched to Limited.

I ran a bunch of 185gr MG .45 bullets before I switched to Limited.

Meaning, you no longer shoot .45 in Limited? I have been saving my pennies for an STI Edge in .45 to run in Limited. Is this not a good idea? Would I be better suited running 9mm?

Wich, you have a lot of research to do my friend. The good news is, this is the place to do it.

Look up burn rate charts for gun powder. There is a scale from slow to fast. Faster powders with a heavier bullet feel good. Slow powder with light bullets create a lot of gas to run the comps on open guns which makes them flatter and smoother to shoot.