Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

sights for production class

Dragon11

What sights due you guys prefer to use for production class? I have been shooting USPSA since 1992, and last month, I shot an NRA action pistol match. I had a blast and plan on shooting NRA action pistol while also shooting USPSA. Having said that, I shoot a Glock 34 and am wanting to set one up for NRA action pistol. I am leaning towards an all black adjustable Dawson Precision set. I was just curious what sights you guys shoot in NRA action pistol? Are they all black or do guys use fiber optic? I at least wanted to check before I ordered some sights.

The fiber optic sights (front and rear) really help if you don't have perfect vision, cloudy days and shooting against a dark background like the plates at the Bianchi Cup. Protocol Design has a nice set up for revolver, they are in the vendor area on this forum.

Edited by toothguy

Its interesting to me that the fiber optics would be the better sights. Not because I think its wrong, but because I would have thought that the all black sights would give me a simple, more defined sight picture. When I use fiber optic sights my eyes tend to drift between lining up the dots versus lining up the hard edges of the sights. For IPSC that helps me, but would have thought the opposite for action pistol. Do you guys know if people are using the fiber optics in PPC matches also?

Its interesting to me that the fiber optics would be the better sights. Not because I think its wrong, but because I would have thought that the all black sights would give me a simple, more defined sight picture. When I use fiber optic sights my eyes tend to drift between lining up the dots versus lining up the hard edges of the sights. For IPSC that helps me, but would have thought the opposite for action pistol. Do you guys know if people are using the fiber optics in PPC matches also?