Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How do I become an effective spotter? for rilfe shots.. UGH!

Ok...I'm new to long distance rifle shooting.. I went out to 300-500 yards with a buddy.. He spotted for me and I followed his directions and adjusted my shots on the 500 yard rifle target... but when it was my turn to look thru the spotting scope... I was like---- :surprise::blush: um, I didn't see it hit? um I didn't see dirt tossed up...Um??? I think a tad to the right above the left shoulder?? I can tell he was getting frustrated with me spotting for him...basically he was wasting rounds!! cuz I couldn't get him on target!! HELP!! any tips? sites? books? B)

My reaction would have been, well lets try some closer targets.

At 500 yards you can't know if he is shooting all over the place or you are not seeing the hits. If his groups where 2" at 100 yards for example, and then 4" at 200 then you could expect them to be 8" at 400 and low. So you would know where to look for the hits. But if you start at that distance, it is hard to tell if it the shooter/rifle or the spotter.

If the spotting scope is variable, set it on a lower power. Focus about 20 yards in front of the target, you'll see the bullet coming in from 12 o'clock. At 500 yards, it's coming in on a pretty good angle due to the drop.

Look at a ballistics chart, from 450 to 500 yards in 5 or 10 yard increments, and you'll have a better idea what is happening.

Assuming the shooter was doing his job and was near the target, it's a matter of learning to see what you are looking for (the bullet trace). It took me a while before I was able to spot it regularly. The less experienced a spotter you are, the more (I think) you benefit from better glass and higher magnification that make the trace easier to spot. You may also not be realizing just how steep the bullet movement is as it comes down on target 500+ yards out. Your eye may be looking for a horizontal indicator when it is really vertical.