Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Speed vs accuracy

waynes_world_45

Ok so I'm new to Open. I have shot primarily Production for 6 years. I am a high B 73%. I have put about 800 rounds through my new open gun in 6 matches so far. At first I was shooting slow and deliberate, no mikes, like production and everyone kept telling me to speed up, trust the gun. Well there seems to be no middle ground with me. Now I'm hauling ass, running times like the A and Master shooters I shoot with, but missing.

Do I slow down and watch the dot more deliberately or keep the speed up and see if the hits come with more trigger time?

Hello: Look at the target and bring the dot to the target. Don't look through the scope. When I start looking through the scope I tape off the front of the C-More and shoot with both eyes open. The dot will be there believe it or not. You can dry fire if you don't believe it. Keep the speed up and learn the dot. Also why are you missing? Not seeing the target? Try the tape on the C-More and see if that helps---it should. Thanks, Eric

Do I slow down and watch the dot or keep the speed up and see if the hits come?

If you don't "watch the dot", the hits will never come.

You have to watch the dot.

As quickly as possible.

Only a portion of your speed should come from racing the shots - instead,

race everything else (reload, draw, movement, etc).

BTW, if you're a B shooter, and running as fast as A shooters,

you're going too fast. Slow it down, watch the dot, and miracles

will occur. :cheers:

Every time I think in terms of "fast" and "slow" my scores suffer. If you can shoot 73% in Production it obvious you can shoot, so shoot. It sounds like you're just throwing lead downrange right now.

I don't think there's much to be gained by "speeding up" (read: rush, not call shots) the actual shooting, but the movements and the execution of the stage plan hold the greatest potential for time savings.

Balance.