Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Can a swinger be shot at before being activated?

NicVerAZ

I shot a match today where two swingers on one stage were partially visible when not activated.

Some shooters decided to shoot them before they were activated, which was possible by gaming the stage, since one had to shoot under a partition to do so.

Some, including me, decided against it, as it was against the spirit of the stage.

There was a debate and, although I was on principle against what these shooters who shot them before activation did, I defended them, as I my RO knowledge of the rule does not tell me that anything is written against this.

Someone had brought the rule book and could not find anything against it.

Also nothing was specifically written in the Course Of Fire stating that these targets were to be engaged in a certain manner.

Was I right to agree their action was legitimate?

Edited by NicVerAZ

I'm no rules expert but if there is nothing specifically in the rule book against it and IF the Match Director or stage designer wanted them shot only after activation then the stage brief should have stated that.

Otherwise it's shoot'm as you see'm.

Edited by Willz

2.1.8.5 Appearing scoring targets must be designed and constructed to be obscured to the competitor (during the course of fire) prior to activation.

2.1.8.5.1Level One matches are encouraged but not required to comply with this requirement. The Written Stage Briefing (WSB) may prohibit competitors from engaging certain targets which may be visible prior to activation until the operation of the activating mechanism has been initiated (see Rule 9.9.4)

9.9.4 Level I matches only - If the written stage briefing prohibits the engagement of certain targets prior to activation, the competitor will incur one procedural penalty per shot fired at such targets prior to oper- ating the activating mechanism, up to the maximum number of avail- able hits (see Rule 2.1.8.5.1).

Edited by basman