Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Benelli SBE for 3 gun

Dewberry

So I've been using a benelli SBE for 3 gun for the past 2 years. I love the long loading port and how the fore grip and trigger guard are situated for loading. I've opened up the loading port, added a extended tube and welded the lift gate.

I love the gun and there are still some things I want to do to it (extended bolt release, match saver, and extended bolt handle)

But it has trouble cycling about 2% of the light 7.5 loads I use for 3 gun. So I want to put in a reduced power recoil spring. I found a 25% reduced power spring by Wolff. I'm planning on installing this. Am I going to have any trouble running standard 2 3/4 slugs or buck shot with the reduced spring? Or will I have to run reduced recoil slugs and buck shot only?

Thanks for the help guys

Edited by Dewberry

For the spring that seems like a pretty hefty drop. I'm not sure I would go that light. You won't hurt the gun, but it will really close slow and you might over run the trigger a lot. I think if you really must go lighter I would get one of Taran's springs from Taran Tactical. Also I would look into a tab like the Dave Metal Works or the Red Neck Tactical. You don't have to drill and tap,and it doesn't put any stress on the button. I have seen quite a few buttons breaking off lately due to the lever type bolt releases putting a side load on the button which it was never designed to withstand, and then it is weakened further by drilling.

Dewberry,

What is the velocity and weight of the shot in the shells that are not cycling well? I have always found that 1 1/8 oz of shot going 1200 fps (a pretty standard 3 dram target load) would reliably cycle my SBE.