Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

gas cylinder rust. 930 JM Pro

EC803

Okay guys I've been procrastinating on adding this question because I'm nervous about the answers I'm going to get. I have light pitting and rust on the cylinder walls of my 930. Any time my gun has acted up the problem has been fixed by cleaning the gas system. Also it seems like my 930 doesn't make it near as long as it should without needing to be cleaned.First question what if anything should/can I do about the rust. 2nd I'm new to this and I don't reload but is shotgun ammo like rifle rounds as far as some brands are cleaner than others, if so any recomendations on the cleaner burning shotgun ammo. Thanks

Im sure i wasnt doing a very good job explaining and i was probably using the wrong words to describe the parts. The picture should clear things up. What should i do about that if anything and does anyone know why this happened.

Edited by EC803

Weird. It looks like water or something corrosive was stuck in the gas piston rings. Are you using water to rinse your parts?

To remove the rust without opening up the tube, try evaporust:

Evapo-Rust.jpg

It's great for rust in pitted surfaces because using an abrasive pad to get down there will take out too much material.

You may be able to just get in there with a qtip and WD40 too.

After you get it out I would consider changing whatever you're using to lube the system. What are you using now?

Not water just normal birchwood casey and hoppes 9 lubricants nothing crazy. The gun has never been in direct rain or anything like this and the gun isnt very old. I got it the first of the year. Ive been running the gun like it is but it has to be cleaned twice as often as it should to stay reliable.