Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
Sign in to follow this  
ROSW

Pro Chron Bluetooth Module & Android App

I recently bundled up my new Pro Chrono Digital and a laptop with the program on it and took it to the range for the first time. The Pro Chron worked great but the laptop program was a disaster. I could see the Pro Chron display fine but the laptop was unusable in the bright sunlight. Being a embedded developer I decided to design a commercially viable solution using my Android phone (or tablet) and a Bluetooth module to communicate with the Pro Chrono. I've looked at the other postings to this forum and enhanced them where possible. 1) FCC certified Bluetooth module 2) no switch - automatically turns on/off with the Pro Chrono 3) uses 2 low cost alkaline AA batteries for about double the run time of a 9v battery 4) 'velcros' to the bottom of the Pro Chrono. 5) Professional PCB. The Pro Chron display is quite visible and adding a numeric display to the app would make the buttons much more difficult to use, especially in sunlight. Therefore the Android app is VERY simple - 6 BIG, BRIGHT buttons.

post-51456-0-44233300-1401913986_thumb.j post-51456-0-54884100-1401914001_thumb.j

Today I called Competition Electronics to see if they would be interested in the design. They politely informed me they had a design in the works, so no. So here I am. I have parts for about five gen 2 boards coming in later this week and the Android app has been working on my gen 1 board for some time. Being a pre-production small run, the cost is high - a bit over $50 per board (no profit). I expect in moderate production the cost (not price) could get down to the $20 range. The Android app is not on the PlayStore and is not protected (at least at this time).

So my question is - is there any interest? and if so, where and for what?

-ROSW

PS Will post photos of the gen 2 module when I get one built up.