Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Fast Splits

b1gcountry

Hi, this is my first post. I've been reading this site for the past couple months. I've been shooting steel matches for the past six months, and shot my first USPSA match two months ago. Thanks for providing the site as a place for all the shooters/reloaders.

I was practicing some falling plates today, and noticed that my splits were around 0.60 for all the plates, but I could consistently hit the last plate in half the time 0.30 seconds. I've noticed this during my steel matches also. Expecially if I miss a plate, I can go back, hit the missed plate, and then hit the stop plate in almost record time. Is this a common thing? If I can hit the last plate at 0.30 seconds, I should be able to hit them all with 0.30 splits, right?

Maybe someone can let me in on the secret, and then I can slash my times by half :)

Tom

Edited by b1gcountry

The time between targets is based on a combination of their lateral distance from each other and their relative size which is based on their actual size and distance from you. That being said, if you can transition from a 12" plate at 15 yrds to the 12" stop plate at say 10 yds in .3 sec then you should be able to do a .3 sec from any 12" plate at 15 yds to and 12" plate at 10 yrds assuming the lateral distance is the same. The fact that one of them is the stop plate shouldn't affect how fast or slow you can transition to it ...

Maybe because you know it is your last transition you are being more aggressive on this last transition?

I shoot a fair amount of Steel Challenge and have not seen that my transition times to the stop plate are universally faster, it all depends on the relationship of the plates I described above ...

This explains why my Smoke and Hope times currently hover in the 2.05-2.25 sec range vice sub 2 secs. The transition from plate 4 (18"x24") at 9 yds to the stop plate (12") at 14 yds takes considerably longer than 1-2, 2-5 and 5-4 does ...