Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

CED ProChrono erratic readings with reloads but not factory ammo

I just bought a new CED ProChrono....yesterday I tried it for the first time...

I started with factory ammo to test the accuracy of the unit...it was spot-on accurate

Then I started running my reloads through and the readings were fluctuating by 10 PF....I tried different loads on both 180gr and 200gr CMJ FP's and it still fluctuated a lot..

I load with a Dillon 550B....is there a reason my reloads are that far apart??

HELP!!

How many rounds did you measure? What was the average and the standard deviation?

FWIW - I usually run 10 rounds at a minimum and that is after at least a couple of rounds have been shot through the barrel.

I would think that 50 fps is a lot of deviation..isn't it?...I am new to chronographs, so maybe it isn't bad.....after I shot a few rounds of factory ammo, it was within 1 fps, and I know that reloading won't get me that close, but a variation of 50 fps I would not think it is acceptable...maybe it is....you experienced guys can tell me, please

Thank you

It was like 825-875 fps deviation

I don't think you mean there was a 825-875 fps deviation, I think what you mean is you saw a range of 825-875 fps (a difference of 50 fps from min to max) with your reloads.

That isn't abnormal. You didn't provide all your specifics (load, gun, etc.) but you can probably tighten that up with more consistent powder charges and improving your reloading skills. But, your subject is probably off base and gives a reader the impression that your chrono was erratic when more than likely it was your loads that were "erratic" (in your words).

It was like 825-875 fps deviation

Glock, if all your rounds were in the 825 - 875 fps range, there is nothing

wrong with your loads or the chrono.

That's normal distribution - at least in my experience.

We all hope the range will be smaller, but usually isn't.

How's the accuracy?