Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

PPC style matches

RangerTrace

The Texas DPS pistol team is having tryouts next month and I'm thinking about giving it a try. Shooting is shooting right? And getting to shoot Department ammo on the clock would be even better.

I've never shot a PPC match and really have no idea what it's all about. I glanced at the rules this morning and it seems if I increased the trigger pull on my 6" limited pistol, it would be legal for Open.

Have any of you shot PPC? If so, did you like it?

Edited by SV-COP

I've been shooting it since 1978. There was a lot more PPC back then. We were just coming out of a period when Bullseye and PPC were about the only kind of pistol match there was. PPC will teach you how to shoot accurately if you learn from the old pros that have been doing it for a while. This helps you in all other shooting and makes you a more well rounded shooter. My opinion, worth what you paid for it. :)

PPC shooting teaches pure shooting fundamentals from many different shooting positions. You will become a better shooter in what ever shooting sport you combine it with. The time limits are generous to allow for the reloading of revolvers before speed loaders. When I shot PPC civilians were not allowed at the nationals but I heard they changed that.

It's an old school game. A few of the people that I shot with have died or can't see anymore, and the new shooters have moved onto more exciting games. A small local group still shoots it and occasionally I will come back and shoot the course with my Bianchi gun. It's great practice because it shows your weak areas, lack of patience ect.

There is a lot to learn from the old PPC and Bullseye shooters, just not as many left to learn from. A few years ago it was nice to see John Pride shoot a 1920 at Bianchi, still shooting well after many years.