Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sluggish M2, fixed it with some acetone. Before and after video.

Mberry

I'm relatively new to 3-gun and was never a shotgun guy prior to getting in to the sport. I've learned a lot through trial and error and by spending a ton of time reading old threads. Hopefully someone else finds this method useful.

***Edited to add- this technique worked for me. Obviously from the posts below from more experienced shotgun guru's, this isn't the only way to run an M2. If you're having problems and looking for remedies, this is a method that worked for me.

My M2 was acting very sluggish. I was getting a lot of failures to feed where the bolt was not going fully in to battery. I clean my gun about every 300 rounds and finish by applying a few drops of Fireclean on the contact points. I assumed it was my recoil spring causing the problem as it has been in the gun for a few thousand rounds now. I had the same problem towards the end of last season and was able to get my gun running again by pulling the recoil spring and making sure it was clean and dry. I was a little overzealous with the lube a few times and it leaked down in to the recoil spring causing it to gum up and act sluggish.

Replacing the spring helped a little, but it didn't fully cure the problem. The problem was noticeably worse when the gun was cold, so I thought maybe Fireclean was too temperature sensitive. A friend of mine told me Benelli's should be run very dry, I don't exactly run mine wet, but it wasn't dry either. I decided to completely strip all the oil from the receiver with some acetone and give it a try. After cleaning with the acetone, I put some very light oil on a q-tip and ran that on the rails and bolt, just enough to where the metal didn't look "thirsty".

The results are pretty easy to see and the gun runs like new again. Lesson learned on my part!

Before:

After:

Edited by Mberry

Running my M2 wet has never let me down.