Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

40 Lead 175 Gr TCBB

Ewilson224

Guys,

I am starting to load a 175 gr Lead TCBB bullet. I have been reloading for several years now using mostly Winchester Super Field for my 45 loads. I am having a hard time finding load data for this particular bullet. I did see on here where some people are using 6.0 grains of WSF. That seems way too hot. I maybe wrong, but it just seems that is on the high end. I use 6.2 grains right now for my 200 gr LSWC in 45 and I am around 850 fps.

I need a major load for USPSA limited and also a minor load for production in USPSA and ESP/SSP for IDPA. Does anyone have any experience with either or both for major and minor for this bullet.

I appreciate the help in advance. Thanks guys,

EW

Edited by Ewilson224

Published data with WSF and an XTP is 5.8gr max for a bit over 1,000fps and very close to SAAMI MAP pressure. I've loaded the 175/180gr cast TC bullet quite a bit in .40 and 10mm (latter my favorite). My load for the .40 is 5.7gr WSF at 1.125 OAL for 960fps in a Commander 1911. I used to cast it using the Lee mold, but have just become too busy and I use Missouri Bullet's 180gr TC currently.

6.0gr WSF with a cast 175/180gr is my 10mm load. I would not load that in .40 at the 1.125 OAL, maybe the longer 1.180 for the 1911/2011s.

Sorry I can't help out with a minor load. I've never loaded .40 Minor. I like Winchester powder and with that in mind, the next fastest powder in that line would be WST and I think it would serve you well for a Minor load.

--------

Since you mentioned .45, I use 6.0gr WSF with a 200gr LSWC (1.250), 230gr TC (1.185), and 230gr plated (1.250). The heavies are around 850 and the SWC is a bit slower.

Mine's not with WSF, but its faster brother, WST.

4.8 grains at 1.16" makes major easily in my 5" M&P, doesn't melt bullet bases like Titegroup and has little muzzle flip/flash/blast.

I cast and shoot buckets of 'em.

Mark

Edited by redial

Guys,