Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bayou Bullets, VV N320, Glock 34

johnsons1480

I'm looking for some load data. I've been reloading rifle for a while, but am fairly new to pistol. I've been loading Montana Gold 115 gr bullets over 4.5 gr of Titegroup at 1.100" OAL, which is working great at the moment. I picked up a Bayou sample pack, and 4 lbs of VV N320, and I have some Federal Gold Medal Match SPP and Winchester SPP. This is my first time loading lead coated bullets, so I've got a few questions. If it helps, I'm loading on a Dillon 450 and will be chronographing these loads. I'm trying to get to 135 PF. I have a 13lb ISMI spring on a Jager captured guide rod in a Glock 34 gen 4.

• What size should my bell be? I've read that the bell needs to be bigger for lead and coated lead bullets, but I do much better with measurements than generalities.
  • What would be a good starting load for the 124 gr RN and 147 gr FP? What would be the max load for each
  • What is the minimum OAL for each bullet? I would like to start there and then work my way out to the gun max checking for accuracy once I've established an acceptable velocity and pressure.
  • I've read that I shouldn't be using my Lee FCD with coated lead bullets. Anyone have a difference of opinion on this?

Thanks for all of your help!

I'm looking for some load data. I've been reloading rifle for a while, but am fairly new to pistol. I've been loading Montana Gold 115 gr bullets over 4.5 gr of Titegroup at 1.100" OAL, which is working great at the moment. I picked up a Bayou sample pack, and 4 lbs of VV N320, and I have some Federal Gold Medal Match SPP and Winchester SPP. This is my first time loading lead coated bullets, so I've got a few questions. If it helps, I'm loading on a Dillon 450 and will be chronographing these loads. I'm trying to get to 135 PF. I have a 13lb ISMI spring on a Jager captured guide rod in a Glock 34 gen 4.