Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

308Winchester or 300Winchester?

keary

I am seriously considering purchasing a (Ruger) rifle in the near future.  I have narrowed it down to either a .308 or .300Winchester.  I am looking at doing some long range target shooting and might even hunt with it.  It goes without saying I will be loading my own ammunition.   Any suggestions?  Pros and cons?  Thanks.

Keary

The 300 Win SHORT Mag looks like it may be a performer, but I have had no first hand experience with it.

The old standby belted 300 Win Mag was a fine performer, and capable of taking any North American big game. It is also extremely accurate and flat shooting. Those are some of the pros. And the cons-  the brass costs considerably more, and the 300 mag takes around 30 more grains of powder in an average load. Also, the recoil factor just kinda smacks you in the forehead (literally). But I still love the 300 mag.

The 308 is probably the perfect all around rifle cartridge. Also extremely accurate, not bad recoil, and economical.

Brass is plentiful and cheap, and surplus ammo is everywhere. The logical choice for the budget minded shooter. It will take any big game you're likely to hunt in the lower 48.

Then there is the macho factor. Many of my non shooting friends in the early 80's went out and bought 300 Win mags after trying mine. Most of them bear semi circular scars over their right eyes from the sometimes brutal factory rounds. The 308 will never do everything that the 300 will do. But then, it will do ALMOST everything, more economically. Good luck!

You need to define target shooting in a bit more detail.  Are we talking competition or just shooting at a target?  Also what do you mean by long range?

The ruger rifle has never successfully broached into the competitive shooting world.  Winchester Model 70s and Remington Model 700s have ruled the roost as far as commonly available actions go.  I'd steer you toward the Model 70.