Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I've got the clay bug.

Brassaholic13

Been a put hole in paper guy for a long time. Tried the whole IDPA thing, and it's just not for me. A buddy of mine recently bought a Mossberg 500 with two barrels. One for home protection and one for bird shooting. It's a scary black gun, of course.

Anyhow, during one of our BS sessions, he had the idea to grab a plastic clay thrower and a box of clays.

I haven't had that much fun in a long time, and even managed a 50% hit ratio while we were just screwing around.

So, I'm now considering purchasing my first skeet/trap shotgun, and trying to figure out a good price point to go with. I know Benelli and Beretta are top of the line (maybe even Browning?), but I'm not willing to spend that much on a gun while I'm still a beginner and just having fun between myself and a few buddies.

I know Remington is probably a dirty word here, but I like my Remington 700 Sendero and Mil-Spec 5R rifles. I also like to buy "Made in the USA" when I can. That being said, I have Beretta 92A1 and 96A1 pistols to go along with my pair of 1911 70 series National Match Colts. Anyhow, I digress.

Can one of you guys who are more experienced with this sport point me in the right direction as to what features I should be looking for? I think I would prefer a semi-auto, but I'm not totally against a pump or double barrel.

Thanks!!!

One word of advise. We have all herd it a million times but, save and buy the one you want not the one that fit your wallet at the time. Lots of good deals out there on good used O/U and semi shotguns. A good used gun will be better than a new junk gun.