Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Front sight focus - I don't get it?

Southpaw

Hi all, I’m new to this forum, but not new to shooting. I’ve been shooting for about 15 years and the past few years have gotten more into competition shooting. I’m a fairly decent shot, but not great; certainly have much room for improvement. And I think one of the things that’s holding me back is I don’t know how to focus on the front sight.

I prefer to shoot with both eyes open, especially when doing competitions, and I always shoot with a target focus where I’m basically looking through the sights which are a bit blurry. If I try to focus on the front sight I don’t see two targets like I sometimes see it described where you then know which one to aim at. Instead I just see a huge blur and can’t make out the target at all. I also can’t make out the rear sight. It also looks like a blur and I can’t line up the sights.

If I close one eye or even just squint my weak eye I can then focus on the front sight and still see the rear sight and target. But when I fully open both eyes and focus on the front sight everything else is a complete blur. And no, I’m not cross eye dominant.

The target focus works ok for me, but I’m very dependent on what sights I use. I need to use sights with paint or fiber optic on the front and rear sight such as 3 dot sights. If I’m using all black sights or even a fiber optic front with an all black rear then I have trouble aligning the sights with a target focus. Since the sights aren’t in focus I need the dots to see the sights. With all black sights I feel the desire to close one eye to align the sights.