Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Switch from Righthand to Lefthand in IDPA

kmaultsby

I shoot IDPA and I just jointed USPSA. In SSP shooting M&P 9mm I shoot marksmen and in ESP using my XD tactical I am a novice. Ok I could not take it anymore. I am right-hand left eye dominate. See double all the time. In my last IDPA match I started right-handed on the first two stages which were stages seven and eight and the last six stages I shoot left-handed. The reason I did this is because I noticed when I practices shoot left-handed my groups were better than when I shoot right-handed. Has any tried this that is cross eye dominated? I was shooting ESP and on average my raw time was about six seconds slower than in marksmen and sharpshooter division. I know I will need a lot of practice if I continue down this path. I did discover that need a lot work on shooting from fifteen to twenty five yards. Out of three shots on a target on average I will only have one or two not never all three. Any suggestions or tips?

Edited by kmaultsby

• 1 month later...

I have heard Mike Seeklander (I think it was him) say that he would teach a cross dominant shooter to shoot with the same hand as their dominant eye.

He said he would only do this with a true beginner shooter who had not already learned to shoot.

If they already were experienced shooters then he would not try and have them switch shooting hands.

Having said that, why not just close your left eye? I'm not cross dominant so I don't have experience dealing with it.

I've trained a couple of people with this. If they're adults, it's almost impossible to get them to the motor skills needed to shoot well with their non-dominant hand--even if they shoot a little better, they won't have all of the ancillary skills (reloading, etc.) to get them to the level they want, without a lot of work and frustration.

I generally recommend one of three things: