Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Another 550 or 650 Choice

Just need some opinions.

I have reloaded in the past with a 550 and loved it. I had given the press to my father and uncle.

I know want to purchase one for myself. I will be doing 9mm but may reload 223 or 308 in the future.

I love the simplicity of the 550.

What I really like is the auto shell loader and the powder alarm. Concerned about the powder load when doing so many rounds. Only takes one bad load to really mess things up.

Any thoughts from everyone?

Thanks.

David Haas

I've been running a 550 for a few years now, and have a Hornady SS press also for "aux" tasks, such as decapping, full-length sizing, and for load development when I have new components. I've just recently added a 650 for 9x19, and couldn't be happier. The powder check runs about $68 from Dillon, and will be helpful when running a press that goes that fast. I never had an issue with the 550, because I was never really in a hurry to get ammo pushed out. After running the 650 after I got it setup, I found out why people buy extra primer fill tubes.

To me, it's worth the extra money for loading a lot of one caliber. However, I prefer the flexibility of the 550 for caliber and primer changes.

Congrats on whichever Dillon you go with!

I have a 550 that i received a few weeks ago. I have loaded high and low density powders, the only powder that doesnt cycle with is unique (at least for me). Out of the 4 powders that i use, unique is the only one that i check every 10-20 loads to make sure that it is still dropping correctly.I also only load 1 caliber. With that in mind, i am not disappointed with my purchase at all. I can average about 500 rounds an hour easy. I can probably do more than that as well, but i am not in a hurry.

Check out the youtube link to see how fast this gakido guy is. Its insane.

Edited by leewongfei