Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

# of shot gun shells needed

What the preferred number of shotgun shells should you have on your belt or body?

Is there a min. # that you should always have to cover 90% of all matches?

Is there a preferred combination of 2 or 4 holder types?

Thanks,

Mike

That's something you're going to have to decide for yourself. As a beginner I'd start with always having double the round count in the gun and on my body. So if its a 12 round stage 9 in the gun, and 14-15 on your belt.

If you're looking at load2/quads I suggest 24 rounds in load 2 setup however you want to do it. I use 6 carbon arms pinwheels. And 4 quad set ups stacked 2 each on a backbone. That lets you have 40 rounds on the belt if you have it all on at 1 time which will get you through 99.9% of the stages out there. I also recommend using els clips so you don't have to carry all that stuff if you don't need it. And els allows you to borrow a pouch or caddy from almost anyone for that one stage you encounter where you need more.

I keep two pairs of Qualoads (16 rounds total) on my belt pretty much all the time. I then add either a 4x4 caddy (8 rounds) or a 3-up Duaload (6 rounds) in case I need to load something less than four at a go. For longer stages I can add another caddy of some type to the belt, plus a chest rig for a lot extra.

I'd say to accommodate a lot of "typical" shotgun stages you'd want to make sure your belt holds two full reloads in whatever configuration you like. That'll be overkill for the 12 round stages and a safe margin for 18 round stages. When you get 20+ round stages you'll need to start adding something else.