Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.40 overall length with aftermarket barrels

cpa5oh

I've got a 35 and a 24 - 35 has a Lone Wolf barrel and the 24 a brand new KKM barrel.

In my .40 Tanfoglio I always loaded to 1.125" and never had a problem. Loaded to 1.125" with these two guns/barrels, I'm having chambering issues where the slides aren't always going all the way back into battery. The offending rounds, once ejected, show that the bullet is running into the rifling (I think that's what it's running into - you can see where the bullet has run into something that put a cut into it.)

Loaded some rounds to 1.115" and had two issues with the gun not going all the way back into battery (out of about 200 rounds.)

I'm not a reloading expert, but I usually don't have problems with my ammunition. 1.115" seems short to me (I've made some rounds at 1.105" for a steel match I'm shooting tomorrow - can't imagine I'll have any issues at that length.)

Anybody have any thoughts on why I'm having this issue? The projectiles I'm using are lead flat points, 180 grain.

Not sure if I got the gunsmith fit or not on the KKM - I ordered direct from KKM and never thought to specify drop in or gunsmith fit. I know that it dropped right into the slide but I had to take some material off the underside in order to allow the slide to rack...had to do that with the KKM I have for the 34, too.

I'll get the barrels reamed. I've got a buddy who suggested this, but he's a 2011 guy so I figured I'd better get an opinion or two from folks that shoot Glocks and may have encountered the same issue.

Thank you!

In my experience some of the aftermarket Glock barrels have tighter throats and with lead bullets it usually makes it's self apparent. One that I have used that didn't is the Wilson barrels,they feed and function as reliably as a OEM IMO. SJ 40

Edited by SJ 40