Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is there such a thing as too much gear?

I am new to shooting USPSA. As I grow as a shooter, attend more matches, and meet other shooters, I am constantly introduced to new, awesome gear. Obviously there are certain gear requirements that are necessary to compete, but at what point do I need to stop spending time, energy, and money on new gear and toys? While i am new to USPSA, I am not new to competing in general, and I am familiar with the concept of people buying equipment that is unnecessary and/or way above thier ability level, thinking it will make them perform better. Where do I draw that line?

.... Where do I draw that line?

Ultimately, it's based on how much you want to spend so that line is different for everyone.

This forum and specifically, the gear sub-forum, are great places where lots of information has been shared by others who have passed before you, asked the same questions about the same products and received feedback on brand/model x vs. y vs. z. Researching prior to buying helps to reduce the trial and error approach which can be unnecessarily costly.

Best thing you can do when you start out is use what you have and only buy a minimal setup. In 6 months or a year, you'll have a MUCH better understanding of the game and what gear you really do need.

Naturally, no one ever follows this advice, which is why most of us have boxes of holsters, mags, guns, tools, and other accessories that were pretty cool, but turned out to not be what we really needed.

BB

Well I am not sure exactly what is enough or to much. Several years ago with all the kids grown and gone my wife and I moved from a 4800 sq ft house into a 2600 sq ft condo. We disposed of things that would not be needed in the condo. I did not however dispose of any gun related items. If fact in the process of moving I found things I forgot I had.