Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

SPS 9/38S 170mm Mag Tubes- What parts do you use and how many do you g

RobE1010

I have a couple SPS 9/38S 170mm mag tubes that I got awhile ago and have yet to assemble them for Open use. I am curious what combination of springs, followers and base pads people are using with these mag tubes and the number of rounds they are getting in either 9Major or 38Super/38SC. What springs and/or followers are you using along with base pads to be legal length and for best reliability/capacity?

I would prefer to use SV tubes but would like to give these a try for now as they wont cost me anything extra right now and I have them on hand. Thanks!

Hi there,

Sorry if this sounds negative , but I have been shooting a SPS open pistol for about three years, 9mm Major.

I had nothing but trouble with the SPS mags both 140 and 170. I tried all combinations of springs an followers,

mainly Arrondondo parts as thats really all we can get in Europe.

In the end I cut down stock followers and made plastic spacers from a water container !!!!

I now use STI mags and internals with spacers, these work all the time and give me 26 rounds the same as SPS.

I believe that Bevan Grams uses SPS mags but I think he reworks them a lot , I found that if I droped a semi full mag

the mags lips would change shape and all sorts of internal problems would occur.

I hope this helps, and if you can make them work please let me know as I have Ten mags both old and new sitting in a box going rusty...

Malcolm.

I have one of those SPS Tubes after years of dinking with it, all I can say is it won't even make a good barney mag. Albiet I have not tried it with a spacer, maybe I'll give it one more shot.

I tried, Grams, STI, Arrendondo, and the other one with the really thin followers, I did get it to feed 38S at about 98% reliability, with 9 maj it would run once then next time couldn't make ready or up chuck and go salt shaker half way thru.