Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Thinking about Changing Scopes

JediTodd

So I'm considering changing scopes on my 3-gun rifle. I've been running a Vortex Viper PST 1-4 for about 6 months now and I'm thinking about downgrading to a Burris MTAC/TAC-30. The reasoning is the simplified reticle. It seems like I'm having to do a lot more "thinking" on close in targets than I really need to using this scope and the simpler reticle in the Burris seems like it would be easier for target acquisition. Specifically, remembering to raise my sites for close up targets and also for acquiring long distance targets. Has anyone used both and could give me an opinion? Am I being silly by trading in a higher priced scope?

I haven't shot the Viper, I do have an MTAC, I like the reticle in it. I can say however the aim point still need to be adjusted for close work (head shots specifically), I use the 200 yd dot at the top of the head for A-zone hits out to about 15 yards. (Scope zeroed at 100 yds.)

When I went to a simpler reticle, my scores improved. I don't think it would be silly at all to go to an MTAC or Tac30 if the features will allow you to shoot instead of think.

There has got to be someone close to you that has a MTAC/Tac30 who would let you shoot it a bit and compare.

I have, and enjoy, a Tac30. The only think I would change is how fat the reticle is. I think I could be just as effective if the outside ring were not as thick and the hold over dots were a few minutes smaller. On the other hand, it is very simple and fast to use. I handled every scope I could get my hands on at the NRA show this weekend and am very satisfied with my $300 jewel. Only one I would trade it for (may sound like a no brainier) is the Z6 for playing games. If I wanted to shoot bench groups all day I wouldn't have a 1x scope anyway.