Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Glock 17 GEN 4 issues

tk4

Just got a brand new glock 17 gen 4. Put in a ghost 3.5 connector and the trigger would not reset consistently. Reinstalled the factory connector. Had a few issues where the trigger would not reset, but now it seems to be resetting fine.

I also tried to replace the gen 4 recoil spring and guide rod. Got the gen 4 adaptor and installed a ss guide rod with a 13lb recoil spring. As you pull the trigger the slide moves back about a 1/4".

I really want to set this up with a lighter recoil spring. Any suggestions? I am new to glocks.

The slide movement is pretty normal. As for it not resetting, is this one of the connectors that you need to fit the solid trigger stop? If so, you haven't taken enough off...

The slide movement is pretty normal. As for it not resetting, is this one of the connectors that you need to fit the solid trigger stop? If so, you haven't taken enough off...

This is supposed to be a drop in connector, but maybe it needs to be adjusted anyway.

The slide movement is definitely not normal.

I haven't dabbled with glocks in a while but don't the striker spring need to be changed also if the recoil spring is swapped out with a lighter one?

Will that cause occasional light primer strikes?

It will hence why some guys I know of shoot with federal primers only.

What I found out with glocks is once you change something to a aftermarket spec, everything else that interacts with that part needs to be changed also.

The Glock design works as is straight out of the box (hence why I'm getting one as a house gun).

Once you change something, now you gotta start tinkering to find out what the ideal combination is to get it back to the level of reliability as it came from the factory.