Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Starter 3-Gun Gear

I've been shooting a little informal 3-gun for the past 2 years or so and my gear has been OK. Well, I shot in a 2-gun match (rifle and handgun) yesterday and realized that I need to upgrade in a very bad way. I've been using a fobus paddle holster and a paddle mag holster. Obviously, these need to go.

With 3 kids and a wife, my budget isn't much. I don't plan on shooting many multi-gun matches, but when I do, I want to be well equipped.

Basically, what I want is a belt, holster and mag holster as well as a shotgun shell caddy. I already have 2 AR mag holsters from blade tech.

Here's what I'm looking at. I based everything on price for the most part and all the reviews seem positive on everything:

California Comp Works She'll Caddy

http://www.brownells.com/shooting-accessories/speedloaders-accessories/shotgun-shell-holders/12-gauge-speed-stripper-prod4148.aspx

BladeTech 1911 Pak

http://www.brownells.com/shooting-accessories/holsters-belt-gear/holsters/govt-model-competition-pak-sku098000058-26674-51909.aspx

Gilmore Sports Competition Belt

http://www.brownells.com/shooting-accessories/holsters-belt-gear/holster-belts/large-belt-liner-sku380000003-6828-16882.aspx

So, is this a good start?

Thanks!

Edited by Adamski

As I understand it, anything that will get you out and started is good to go!

I don't know anything about those items other than the Comp Works Caddy - but you can always upgrade as you get going.

Safari land is the only way to go for 3 gun. You can buy I now or later on but eventually you will get it. Look for one of their 50% off cards and it will be cheaper than buying the options above.

CR speeds are nice but they don't lock. Many have seen shooters loose their entire belt as the exta weight of equip pulls it off the shooter. The belt will work. Get some belt keepers and run 3 of them along with the Velcro loop that came with your belt.

Jay