Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking into IPSC/USPSA

I'm new to this forum, and am looking to get into IPSC/USPSA. I'm going to purchase a GLOCK 34 to compete, and am wondering about a holster. I'm a lefty. I also feel too young for a sport like this. I'm 14 and most people I see in it are 20s+. However, I feel like I am a decent shot and want to have fun. I've been drilled with gun safety from the time I started shooting my dad's pellet gun, so safety is no issue. Any advice on IPSC/USPSA is appreciated. Thanks!

You're not to young, I wish I had started at your age. The Glock 34 is a good place to start. I am also left handed and when I shot production I had a Blade Tech holster and it worked great. As far as getting involved go to the www.uspsa.com and do a search for clubs in your area they will have contact info and match schedules to help answer your questions. In no time you'll be hooked for life. Best of luck.

BladeTech DOH without question. Shooter's Connection is the best source.

Are you in Cincinnati? There are a ton of us shooting around here at several different clubs. If you are safe you are not too young. I have a couple of 12-14 year olds signed up to shoot the Ohio State match in a few weeks.

Well I'm from Georgia, and I know of a range about 15 min from my house that does matches weekly. I also hav a friend who works there. However the day they do it on doesn't work with my schedule.

Keep in mind USPSA safety rules are more restrictive than most other venues. You must learn and practice those safety rules and even then you will likely commit a DQ offense at some point. Have fun and be safe. I agree with the Blade-Tech DOH. That's what I run. I can't help with the left hand thing. The world is designed for those of us programmed correctly!

Edited by sroe3