Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

When & why was the Major PF lowered?

Cy Soto

I have been shooting USPSA for a few years and I have heard from many shooters that, at one point, the floor for Major power factor was 175.

Would you folks happen to remember why was it decided to drop it to 165 PF and when was this new PF adopted?

For IPSC it was 1999 at the General Assembly in Cebu during the World Shoot. (LINK), it was reduced due to damage on the steel targets and also the sound levels were beating up the RO's. In USPSA I think it was sometime before 2002, but I can't find it in the minutes.

For IPSC it was 1999 at the General Assembly in Cebu during the World Shoot. (LINK), it was reduced due to damage on the steel targets and also the sound levels were beating up the RO's. In USPSA I think it was sometime before 2002, but I can't find it in the minutes.

The oldest rule book I have is 2001 and that was at 165. When I started in 1998 it was 175 (and there were only Open and Limited divisions :goof: ) Limit your search to 98-2001. I remember the event since that was everybody stopped shooting 200gr .40 and went to 180's.

Weren't there also pressure issues or something running at that PF with 38 Super guns? Hence the development of the 9x25 Dillon?

Assuming that is true, of course now that we're down to 165 people are back to pushing the envelope in the exact same way with 9 Major. But, technology has progressed...

When I started in 85, major used to be 165, back then almost everybody shot a 45, there was no open or limited, everybody shot heads up, It didn't matter if you shot a 45 compgun or a revolver.

Sometime after the supers (or the 38 stupid as we called it back then)started showing up, major got raised to 175,

45's could do that with no problem,the early super's, not so much

They ran unsupported barrels, and kept going to lighter bullets, blowing guns up and you'd get super face