Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Thinking of going from contacts for shooting to RX shooting glasses

KentG

I have been wearing contacts for 35 years . I have glasses I wear during the time I need to give eyes a break. At 52 I cant wear contacts 24/7 like I used to even with the latest brands. I practice with my glasses which are not true safety glasses. (no lectures please I only use them at paper or straight on to plates and when alone so the chance of splatter is as low as possible end of that part of discussion)

I cant ignore anymore I seem to see better with my glasses shootiing than contacts. Both scripts are up to date and from same doc. Contacts do great at distance like outdoor stadiums. ANYWAY i would like to hear from anyone who has a pair of Project Rudy, and does not sell them, with the RX Interchangable or a similar setup. I have located a local Project Rudy dealer and have found my RX has a partner who is a WileyX dealer. AND Im not going the Lasik route yet. Im just interested in RX shooting glasses.

Im not going the Lasik route . Im interested in RX shooting glasses.

Kent, I had cataract surgery, and while most people have had positive

experiences with surgery, I won't consider it for my other eye.

I went to Sears, and for $50 they gave me a pair of "RX shooting glasses"

- was a compromise on length of focus - my front sight is sharp, and the

targets are pretty good - but a little blurry.

Some people also experimented with focal length different for each eye =

sounds interesting, but I have no experience with that - my Rx shooting

glasses work pretty well for me.

:cheers:

I have a pair of inserts for the Rudy Genetyk glasses that have never been used. I got them to try but then found it tough to get a pair of lenses that would work for me with them. The advantage of the inserts is that they still allow you to swap lenses. The disadvantage is that they are thin and won't work with all prescriptions.