Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

180 grain .45 vs 180 grain .40

kneelingatlas

I'm pretty new to USPSA and just getting started reloading so I'm just starting to understand the difference in feel between bullet weights. From what I gather, at any given PF, the heavier, slower bullet is more of a soft push and the lighter, faster bullet is snappier, but what about the same weight bullet at the same speed in different calibers?

The reason I ask is that I'm lusting after a 6" gun (Witness Hunter), but I can only find it in .45 (I would prefer .40 for Limited). I've owned a few .45s and have always preferred the recoil impulse of my .40, can I use a light bullet to make the .45 feel more like a .40? I wouldn't mind shooting L10 with the .45.

I've never really given .45 a fair comparison since my .40 is a full dust cover 5" gun (CZ TS) and the .45 was a 4 1/2" gun with a short dust cover (Witness).

Does anyone have any experience with this?

Edited by kneelingatlas

All other things being equal it should be as close to the same feel as you can get. if you like the idea of playing in L10 and prefer the push of heavy bullets you can go to heavier bullets in 45 than you can in 40. You can also often find the hunters in 10mm but the brass is a bit more expensive it would then be possible to rebarrel for 40 if EAA has or would get a 6" 40 barrel.

Mike

I did that test comparing 180 grain bullets in the 40 S&W and the 38 Super. I didn’t have a 180 grain bullet for the 45. Design: used the same gunpowder (WAP) and guns of the same weight (41.55 oz). Recoil was measured with a mechanical device that records distance moved.

Calculations were determined for the same velocity of 916.7 fps (165 power factor). Recoil (distance moved) and gunpowder charge weight were calculated by linear interpolation.