Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I noticed something.........again

tracker

Shot a few rounds of skeet yesterday. While I am fairly new to skeet on any sort of an "official" course and my scores were only fair I did notice something. All my hits came as though I was not trying. Mount gun, pick up bird, swing, shoot, POOF no more bird. The misses were like a mini step by step procedure being played in my head, in other words I was thinking about what to do but not necessarily doing it. The hits were like all I remember is the bird breaking. I have experienced this while shooting practically everything and in particular while hunting. It also seems like most of my missed whether with handgun or long gun come when I take too long, and that my be different with long range precision type shooting which I have done very little of. What does this possibly tell about my shooting? On the skeet range more misses came when I took longer to shoot (followed the clay longer before shooting) I did well on doubles, and the last two positions, all of which required picking up the bird fast. The same has been for the times when I have shot a good stage at a match. Love to hear your thoughts!

To me it tells me tht your instincts are on the money but your trying to over complicate the shot.

I have only shot trap when it comes to clays but I'm diffrent than most of the people with their expensive over unordered and I show up with a 26" versamax set up for 3 gun with an 11 rnd tube. I don't know where the clay is gong to come out. I don't have a fast enough reaction to see the clay and shoot it like a lot of people do. I'm better when I swing and take the shot when I feel comfortable with it.