Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.223 / 5.56 problem headstamps "PPU 11"

Mike in CT

I have been reloading for several years and now have a year and several thousand .223 rifle reloads experience.

I am having some issues getting almost all of the PPU 11 headstamp brass to fit my case guage, but they chamber OK in my Stag Arms AR.

I am reloading on a Dillon 650, using the RCBS Small Base sizing die, trimming with Dillon Trimmer.

Most all the other headstamps I test trim and case gauge fine. The PPU's always have the rim stick up out of my case gauge. I have tried adjusting the sizing die until it bottoms out and cams over with no luck. Some LC brass shows the same problem, while most LC gauges just fine. By fine I mean they drop in all the way and drop out when I turn the gauge upside down.

The trimming is fine, I trim all cases to 1.750 and the length is not the problem.

Any ideas or suggestions? Just go with it since the chamber ok?

thanks

Mike

Thanks,

I plan on shooting them, I guess I was just looking to see if I could find a way to get them to gauge. I do not mind using them for plinking but for a match I gauge everything first anyways,

Mike

I throw out russian brass just because I have heard bad things about it. May not all be true but better safe than sorry. I do know its harder than hammered hell from what I have seen.

PPU brass isn't Russian.

If you don't want it, don't trash it, contact me.

I'll pay the shipping.

PPU brass isn't Russian.

If you don't want it, don't trash it, contact me.

I'll pay the shipping.

I thought it was a russian/comblock round. Where is it from?

I thought it was a russian/comblock round. Where is it from?

PPU brass is Serbian. The ammo is Privi Partisan.

Combloc. I was thinking so. I dont find much of it and I dont want it.