Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Advice for a 1911 Noob - Safari Arms Frame/Springfield Slide

Velocat

I'm a noob to shooting in general but especially when it comes to 1911's. I have this Safari Arms / Springfield Armory on loan to me with the chance to buy it for $600. The owner recently passed away and his nephew is selling it. I have not had a chance to shoot it yet. I am considering it for a range gun, not to compete with.

I have researched Safari Arms / Olympic Arms but I have some questions:

1) Why the SA frame and Springfield armory slide?

2) Is this gun worth $600, assuming it functions well when I shoot it, or should I put that money toward a future purchase, such as a Springfield Armory Range Officer or other similar 1911?

I was not planning on buying a 1911 but since this opportunity came up I thought why not? The nephew has a couple of other 45's but they are not full sized.

post-42890-0-09123100-1364653500_thumb.j

post-42890-0-10656300-1364653512_thumb.j

I have no experience with Safari Arms, but I sure don't like the look of that projection thing out the front strap.

Sounds like it's a gun somebody put together themselves. Quality (and price) would depend on the ability of that person, and how much use and what kind of care it's had since.

I think I'd pass on it personally, but maybe you would like the front strap thing more than I think I would. An STI Spartan wouldn't cost much more new, and a Trojan is a little over $1000.

ETA: Just looked at the pictures. It looks like a novice fitted the grip safety, with that big gap. I'd also want to change the sights and thumb safety, but that's just me. I really think STI would be more "bang for your buck".

Edited by six-gun shooter