Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What has this panic buy session taught you?

I know this current panic buying session is unusual, since we had 2 panic buys 1 right after the other. Obama's re election, and then Sandy Hook. This seems worse to me than any of the other drought we have gone through before. Maybe it's just were I live, maybe not. Things I have learned this go around.

1. It's time to get a reloader and start stocking up on components, once they become available again. Some of the guys I shoot with are doing fine ammo wise, as they reload and have been stocking up for years.

2. Surprisingly, I can still find .40S&W ammo. Just bought some today, and the shop had quite a bit of it, but no 9mm or .45ACP. I knew that 9 and 45 were the popular rounds, but I really am surprised that I can still find .40 ammo. .40 projectiles are easier to find to. I just started shooting .40 last December in Limited Major so I didn't have time to stock up much before all this happened.

3. Primers seem to be the harder things to find for reloaders. I'm not reloading yet, but my friends that do complain about running out of primers.

What has it taught you guys? I know some of my friends that thought they were prepared for a panic like this found out they were wrong, and they didn't have enough stuff in there stash to outlast this one. I have been able to find ammo to shoot at least every other week at local matches. BUt each time I go, I am seeing less and less people since they can't find ammo or components.

It has taught me to put my guns away until this nonsense is over. It is no longer worth the hassle.

I have around 7,000 rounds made and everything is cleaned and in top condition. The rest is stored away.

I go fondle my Dillon about twice a week. My 1911 a bit more.

I ain't using any of it until these idiots put their credit cards away and stop causing their own shortages.