Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My first GSSF Match

ericjhuber

So I completed my first ever action shooting match at the Glock Shooting Sports Foundation (GSSF) event in Orlando, Florida on Saturday, February 9th and it seems like a great excuse to write something up so that others can learn from my experience.

In the way of providing some background, I’m a former law enforcement officer who has largely been out of shooting much of anything for the past 15 years. I recently took up the sport again and I am now a rookie action shooter. I’m going to be focusing on GSSF and USPSA/SCSA since that’s about all I can remember for rules right now. I shot thousands of rounds during my law enforcement years and used to be a reasonable enough shot. It turns out shooting is a perishable skill and I’ve lost most of my skill while keeping lots of undesirable muscle memory since I was trained to use a Weaver-style stance that I’m finding hard to unlearn.

I’ve only recently returned to shooting so I did not exactly cover myself in glory in Orlando. In fact, I did pretty awful even though I had a tremendous amount of fun at the event. The good news is that it will be hard not to improve when I participate in future GSSF events.

I decided to start with "Glock the Plates" and was doing just fine (which is my way saying I avoided abject humiliation and didn't leave any plates standing) for the first couple times and then the wheels came off. The executive summary is that after switching pistols to meet the requirements of some of the divisions I was shooting in, I suddenly became completely unable to hit absolutely anything. I went from dropping the plates without too much effort (granted you could time me with a sun dial) to going through 11 rounds and having plenty of plates staring me in the face. I could sort of faintly hear the voice of Gunny Ermey questioning my credibility as a human being and the ROs, God love them, were immensely patient with me.