Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

cross dominant gun tilting

jbc98c

First off, I am right handed, left eyed. I was told after the last match I shot (uspsa Limited) that I was tilting my pistol when shooting freestyle. I had never realized I did this. I've been shooting USPSA for 3 years.

After being told this I realized not only was I tilting the pistol, I was dropping my left elbow lower and shooting across my body. I'm not really sure how to correct this.

Any input on this would help tremendously.

Thanks,

Brandon

Try shooting left handed. I'm left handed, right eye dominant so I taught myself to shoot right handed. When you tilt the gun, sight tracking and shot calling are much more difficult.

How dominant is your left eye? I was slightly left eye dominant when I first started shooting. Shot for a lot of years with my left eye shut. By the time I started shooting with both eyes open I was no longer left eye dominant. You can change your eye dominance if you are willing to practice enough. Do some internet searches for "changing eye dominance" and you can find a lot of suggestions.

Try shooting left handed. I'm left handed, right eye dominant so I taught myself to shoot right handed. When you tilt the gun, sight tracking and shot calling are much more difficult.

Thats what I did (although I hadn't been shooting that long when I switched).

Right handed, left eye dominant, shooting lefty.

One good thing is that your reloads will (or should) be sweet with your dominant hand doing the mag change!!

Well, I think I've got too much equipment to shoot left handed now. I guess I just really need to work on form or try to switch eye dominance. this explains why I shoot so much better when I dont use my sights though.

You only need the gun to move a few inches from one eye to the next. You a mirror to give you instant feed back. I have few few buddies that are cross eye dominant and you would never know it to look at them shooting.