Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trigger control with speed--advice for a newbie?

Jensey

Ok, any advice on trigger pull control?? I am brand new to trying USPSA (like not even a baby yet, still a fetus! Shooting my first match on the 23rd), and shooting fast is such a different world than taking my sweet little time. I can make a really tight grouping when I can take my time, I know about a steady trigger pull. But when I try to speed it up, I end up pulling the gun and I shoot low. I have practiced tons going slow and tried to speed up, but I still pull a lot of the time. Today I shot about 100 rounds at 25 feet, some slow, a lot faster, and about 14 of them were low. I mean really low. I also have pretty weak hands (but don't tell anyone I admitted it) and I don't know if that contributes to it or not. So, any advice on drills to fix this and speed up a little? I need to gain speed without losing control. I want to improve.

Most really low shots are not from the trigger, they happen when you anticipate the recoil just a little bit early. Your forearms, hands, and the entire gun jump down before the gun's gone Bang and before the bullet leaves the barrel. Happens to all of us. I've shot forever but always with a nice single-action trigger. Recently had to learn the DA trigger on my CZ production gun and my timing was off frequently, some of those shots were horribly off. Took a new level of determination to watch and press and not budge off of the sight picture. Now everything's fine. Stay with it and you'll be there too.

Get your grip down as Ben Stoeger, and Brian discuss in their books, (also in Matt Burketts DVD's).