Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

124 gr SNS cast bullet help

Hi all

I am new here and new to USPSA.I just want to say this is an incredible site!!

OK my problem. I am not new to reloading. I have been doing it for several years. I have run into a problem with COAL.

I have loaded Berry's Plated bullets to an OAL of approx. 1.135 in my Springfield XD Tactical 9MM. They shot great. I chamber check every round in the barrel to make sure it fits.

I ordered 2000 SNS Casting 124 gr RN Bullets. This particular bullet seems to carry the. 356 diameter all the way up until the Ogive/where the bullet tapers down. There is no step down on the bearing surface like on some bullets. I have to make the cartridge OAL 1.045 or less to get them to seat properly in the barrel. This seems extremely short to me. I have another XD and checked it as well and it is pretty close to the same.

Does that OAL seem short to you guys? Has anybody else had this problem? I am definitely going to back off my powder charge significantly before I even attempt to fire one of these. I am using 3.8 grns of Titegroup.

Thanks in advance.

Bill Martin

Wisconsin

I looked up the bullet you are using and its the roundness that is the problem. the shape of the bullets make it so you have to load them deeper. they make a 125gr one that looks better.

i have loaded flat points that short before

i would back off the charge and start from the beginning with the shorter OAL. After you burn them up, go for the more pointy ones