Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Making a versamax easier to load.

quicky06

I'm new to the shotgun world so forgive me if I'm overlooking something here.

I've got a brand new 26" synthetic versamax that I've put about 75 rnds of birdshot through yesterday. I am currently waiting for carbon arms to start selling their one piece tube. So for the moment it is just 3+1.

All the videos I see people are loading the mag tubes with what seems to be very little effort. Now when I load this shotgun it is difficult to get the round pushed past the shell stop. I'm not sure if the shell stop spring is too stiff or the mag spring is too stiff or if I'm just s little bitch.

I plan on getting a nordic bolt release, charging handle and low drag follower if I can find somewhere that has them all. Then once I put a few cases through it sending it up to crums if I fell the lifter mod and loading port need to be modded but it just feels difficult to load.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Opening loading port is a must. When i install the extended lifters i remove the smaller shell release spring. I use a nordic tube and cut the spring about 12" past the end of tube. Mine loads easy as can be.

Opening loading port is a must. When i install the extended lifters i remove the smaller shell release spring. I use a nordic tube and cut the spring about 12" past the end of tube. Mine loads easy as can be.

Thanks for the info. I'll Try pulling the small spring out and see how much that improves it.

The tuning the shell catch is indeed a key part of making a Versamx load smooth. It is a near copy of the SBE2 shell catch, but Remjngton actually made some improvements to the design. The versa shell catch is made of s more flexible stainless than the carbon steel Benelli part. The Versa part also has a designed flex point vs the Benelli, whicb simply flexes the entire unit. So in the case of the Versa shell catch, less is more. I'll post some photos in a bit.