Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

? Reasons for Failure To Feed Beretta 92fs hard cast lead RN 125gr

bball97

I have been reloading for revolver for several years now and am getting into autos. My Dad bought a CZ 9mm a year ago and I worked up a load that worked well for him: 3.5 Gr. Solo 1000 with Hard cast lead 125 gr. bullets from Reloads & More. The OAL was 1.139. Lansinoh Lanolin (for breast feeding mothers) was used for case lube on the outside of the cases.

I just purchased a Beretta 92fs and shot several magazines worth of ammo to try it out. The factory Blazer Brass FMJ 125gr & 115 gr cycled fine without any problems. The reloads had (2) failure to feeds per magazine. The bullet would lodge with the lead facing up and above the entrance to the barrel. They cleared easily and when I put the bullets back in randomly placed with a mag of factory ammo, they cycled fine.

Here is what I have done so far: I loaded another 15 rounds with the identical set up but I used Dillon Case Lube and was careful to wipe off the case lube with a rag.

I have also loaded 30 rounds with the same powder charge and increased the OAL to 1.158 which is .002 shorter than the factory rounds. I used Dillon Case Lube and was careful to wipe off the case lube with a rag.

Am I on the right track, or should I try something else?

It will be several days till I can get to the range to test what I have done so far, so I have time to load up some other things to test.

Thank you so much.

Thanks rshew, can't wait to try them out. I tried the loaded round in the dismantled barrel and compared it to the factory round and it appears to be plenty far from the rifling.

bball97,

If you don't have one I would highly recommend a 9mm Maximum Cartridge Gage,it will check all critical dimensions of your loaded ammunition to ensure proper functioning.