Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Options for new handguard

HeyChris

Hello,

I've got a Daniel Defense M4 URG, V1 as seen below. I'd like to remove the 12" quad rail and put a tubular hand guard on my rifle. The issue is that I've got a fixed front sight post. Anyone aware of a tubular hand guard that includes a slot for a FSP?

k7ZGH5M.jpg

It's carbine length.. I've thought about just pulling it off, but I actually like the fixed post look. I'm just starting out in 3 gun so I'll be shooting with the rail and post for a bit, while getting used to things. Just trying to weigh my options for when I want to lighten the rifle further down the line.

Taking a look at the Samson, thanks.

Not taken off yet, but getting ready to. I posted this over at AR15.com, but nobody has responded yet. I'm going to remove the DD M4 and want to replace it with a Troy BattleRail Alpha.

I have a vice, punch set and AR-15 armorers tool. If I understand things correctly, the DD M4 rail is installed with a proprietary barrel nut. I'll need to remove that and install a standard barrel nut for the Troy BattleRail installation.

Below is a list of the additional tools and parts I think I will need to complete the procedure.

DPMS Upper Receiver Action Block

Daniel Defense M4 Rail Threaded Ring Spanner Wrench AR-15

Standard Barrel Nut AR15, M16, M4

Daniel Defense .750 Clamp Low Profile Gas Block

1/2 In. Drive Click Type Torque Wrench

Brownells AR15/M16 Front Sight Bench Block

Troy/VTAC BattleRail Alpha - 15"

Am I missing anything else?

Lastly, if I am removing the DD barrel nut and installing the standard barrel nut, will that have any affect on headspace? It's my understanding the barrel extension will not be altered when removing the barrel nut, so headspace shouldn't be affected. Is this correct?

Thanks everyone for the recommendations which included the front sight. I think removing it will give me more options in the future.

Edited by DarkPowder